Suspension questions

Feb 8, 2015
manhattan illinois
I just bought an 06 blaster b/c my 04 had a bent frame. Now that I can do what I want, I was looking into the elka stage 3 shocks. If I run alba +3 or +6 a arms and a lonestar +4 swing arm, do I need any sort of extensions to get the shocks to fit into the extended parts? I have never done a build before so I am clueless about what I have to do if I want to change these parts. I just want the extension so the bike is a little more stable. I had issues with rolling my 04 because it was so narrow. Any help in what I need to do, would be appreciated.

If they are "standard travel" arms get stock length shocks. If they are "long travel" have to ask manufacturer what length shocks. No other parts should be needed.

If it is an aftermarket swing arm made for the blaster it should come already set for a stock length rear shock. As far as the front shocks it is going to depend on what A arms you get like Larry's Shee said.

I don't think alba makes long travel A arms so in that case you would need a stock length shock. What other a arms are you looking into?

im not sure about the chain/brakelines and tierods?
depends on what you are going to do:)

a cheap way and easy way to widen it would be wheel spacers/stud extenders.

but the best way is the parts listed above:)

Last edited:
I had wheel spacers on my old one. I was looking into a Lonestar +4 swingarm. And either alba +3 or American star ones. I want elka stage 3 shocks for all 3. And I'm getting a dura blue adjustable rear axle. I figured it'd be the same length long as I didn't do long travel. Which I don't want long travel ones. I'm not looking to get too wide. We ride tight trails.

$800 for elkas (sale or something? new prices?)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ELKA-FRONT-...Parts_Accessories&hash=item35e0c31b55&vxp=mtr

$420 a-arms with tie rods (long travel vs. standard doesnt make it any wider. +3 means 6" total wider)