Car stereo system?!?

Rashid1739

Apr 9, 2012
Fond du Lac, WI
So I wanna put a system in my ranger. Can I hook an amp up to any aftermarket stereo or only certain ones? And what are good brands or stereo systems (subs, amps, speakers, radios)? I have two pioneer speakers hooked up to the stock system right now so I would use those in my system. Also are the channels on the amps for subs, and speakers? Or just subs? Or just speakers? Sorry if it seems like dumb questions, I'm a newbie at systems. Plus what are cheap but good subs, amps, radios, and speakers? Also post pictures if your setups! But make sure to give me advise too!!!!

Last edited:
You can hook an amp to any stereo but if it doesn't have rca outputs you will need a line level converter. I've always had good luck with Pioneer car audio equipment but there are lots of good manufacturers out there and there's a big range of stuff from absolute garbage to unobtanium. Get yourself a Crutchfield catalog, they aren't the cheapest distributor out there but they really go out of their way to inform and help the do-it-yourselfer.

You can hook an amp to any stereo but if it doesn't have rca outputs you will need a line level converter. I've always had good luck with Pioneer car audio equipment but there are lots of good manufacturers out there and there's a big range of stuff from absolute garbage to unobtanium. Get yourself a Crutchfield catalog, they aren't the cheapest distributor out there but they really go out of their way to inform and help the do-it-yourselfer.

So in other words get a stereo with an RCA output?