98 kx250 piston odd size jug

mac2mac

Jan 31, 2011
New York
I have a 98 kx250 engine and need a piston. I keep measuring the cylinder and coming up with 66.10 . Looked on ebay and found dozens of new pistons with a standard bore size of 66.4 . My question is, are there a jug size of 66.10 or is there only 66.4 and up. If so my digital caliper could be off. Also if the jug is 66.4 do I look for a piston for 66.4. Do the pistons go by jug size so lets say its say 66.4 and the pistons size really is 65.5 lets say. I'm a noob when its comes to this kind of stuff so any help will help me alot.

temporary-16.jpg

temporary-18.jpg

You can see here its says 66.2.. but stock is 66.4 wtf :-[

i think you need to measure at the bottom ?
here...........

Last edited by a moderator:
Cool got a better reading at the bottom. It was 66.4 . And on top of the piston it said std which I guess stands for standard. I guess I can order a piston. I'll call ken tomorrow to see how much he can get them for. This is just a bike I want to get running so I don't need top of the line stuff. I'll save that money for the blaster.lol When is your next big ride. If you have it closer to lost trails I'm down to go.

now measure the clearence between the piston skirt and bottom of the cylinder like the video shows, and report those numbers

Last edited by a moderator:
you have to watch that (lot-A/lot-b )stuff on ebay, i've seen ebay stores that list their stuff in "lots" instead of category's like yamaha, honda, kawi, ect.
and seeing as how those are both from the same seller, that may just mean which one it is, so he knows when it sales ?

edit.....
yes, he has "lot-a/b" listed in all his ads...........
http://stores.ebay.com/OEM-CYCLE
so i'd say that doesn't have anything to do with the bike bandit size b

i googled the part #617MO6640 in that "lot-b" one, and it's coming back a stock sized wiseco piston for a 92-01 kx 250, here.......

Store | Motocross East