240 kits.............

Blastinit

Apr 14, 2013
SW Washington
Ok, so I know this has probably been gone over too many times, but I'm a Newbie so I have to ask........

What is the best way to go in a 240 kit. I have heard that the Vito's is the cheapest, but also not very good quality. I looked at getting an LA sleeve and sending my cylinder to KOR to have him install and port it - or - should I do the CT kit which is claiming close to 40 hp, but at a big $$$$ pricetag. Your experiences/opinions would be appreciated.

I did the LA sleeve and had ken install/port it. I see no need for more power. I just took mine out this past weekend and all it did was spin. I dont know how much hp it is making, but I know it's enough. At some point you are throwing away money if you can't get the power to the dirt. I have a +4 swinger with 21" holeshot GNCC tires. I pulled the handle bars back to force me to sit further back on the seat. That seemed to help a lot. My point is don't try to build a 40hp blaster and expect it to grab and go.

So, in your opinion, which one of these kits will work best with my configuation - FMF fatty/turbine core 2, stock carb, etc......or......am I going to have to change all of that too?

Any of them will work with your combo and give you more power but you won't get the max power without matching the parts to the BB. When it comes to matching parts, the parts that you want to choice will Depend on how you ride and where you want the power. The main affect is the carb size. One size carb can give you the best top end power but lower the low- mid power where Nother size car. Can give great lower-mid but lower top end .most people try to Im for the middle where you don't have the best power in any range but good power in the whole range.

i wouldn't run a stock carb on any 240 cylinder.
it's not that you couldn't jet it, but a BBK needs more air than the stocker can supply. minimum 33mm, preferably 35/36mm for the 240's....IMO.