Whats sizes do you think I need?

Jul 13, 2011
Customer brought me an 89 blaster with burnt rings. Its too lean. It has a 72mm piston in it with a vito's jug and head. The head is not re designed. Just the larger diameter. I'm going to put in a 73mm piston. It has the stock carb. Going to eliminate the tors and re jet it from him. Whats a good starting point for a needle, pilot and main.

Also depends on the elevation and Above or below sea level heights , I'm fairly new to jetting and doing it properly but from what I've read you need to do a leak down test and plug chops to confirm jetting

It has a full fmf, stock air filter. we are at 900 ft above sea level. I looking for a general size to get me started to i can fine tune it with plug chops

Id start with 280- 310 i think ive heard people say with similar mods , If I'm wrong someone will chime in , did you say air box lid on or off , that adds a size to the jet if removed

Gotcha , Well I would try and contact somebody that carries them , You don't want to bore more than you have to , Might as well keep some life left in the Jug , just my .2C

FMF Fatty or SST..???

Fatty #290, #300 safe bet. SST, not sure but prolly round about the same.

Needle middle clip, pilot #32.5.

Correctly set idle before trying to jet and ride for the plug chop.

If using a different pre mix than 32:1, jetting will change also, more oil larger main jet.