Variable length intakes

'blanshee'man

Sep 15, 2008
What do you know about them? How well do they work? How hard are they to tune. I know they are tuned to an Engines harmonics but any Comments, thoughts, insight would be great.....go!

well on a four stroke like that i dont think the intake length is going to effect it nearly as much. im sure it works to an extent with adjusting the speed at which the air comes into the engine. are those bikes fuel injected? sorry im not real familiar with them

well i would guess then (and im no expert) that you could tune the air intake speed to match the exhaust speed and the specific fuel air mixture to maximize performance. its not going to add hp but its going to maximize the hp thats already there

Length of an intake and shape of the runner is what determines velocity and turbulence of the intake charge a shorter intake runner doesn't do much for proper air fuel mixing it's kinda like slamming someone in the face with a baseball bat and then making them read Shakespeare too long of a runner and throttle response drops because of pressure drop the intake runner acts like a low pressure regulator the pressure behind the throttle slide drops because of the small opening variable intakes are difficult to tune unless you have a cad program a flow bench and a dyno for tuning
good luck

CAD flow bench yes. dyno yes i have access to both to use basically when ever i wish. I have to short of a runner now so wanted to make a spiral shaped and make it decently longer and rig up a servo that runs off a tac to determine the optimal length. Its a dog up untill about 8 grand then it hauls ass. The rev limiter is set at 13000.

even though i dont do 4pokes or streetbikes
that sounds like some interesting chit blanshee, keep us posted on how the project progresses and what ya come up with