twist or thumb throttle?

blaster1993

Jul 14, 2009
Ireland
which do ye guys think is better for racing? im new to the race scene and doing a few mods to my blasty :)
any tips are greatly appreciated :D thanks :D

i put a twist on there that i had layin around and its seemed like a load of balls.. was sticky and fuk and unpredictable it would idle high sometimes and low others and just seemend like a mess

Put a good twister on, learn to use it, you may learn to love it.

So much more control for MX, and stops the achy thumb.

Beware though, the first few rides aint for the faint hearted, but it is all to do with the wrist and finger positioning.

68 years old and still twisting! :)

Personally I prefer twist, just feels more natural to me especially in the turns. Haven't come any closer to killing my self with it verses the thumb throttle. Not quite as experienced as Blaaster (just 55 yrs old) but 40+ years using a hand grip throttle may taint my opinion.

I love me a twisty throttle on a Banshee, but IDK if Id do it on the Blaster. They are lots of fun, but don't try jumping or hitting lots of rough terrain with a twist throtte. I hit jumps and ride like there's no tomorrow on my Blaster, so I won't be converting to a twister anytime soon. That said, I learned how to ride ATV's on a Banshee with a twist throttle and loved it, but I once ran my foot over and almost broke my ankle when the Shee took off on me after a rough landing. Running a twist throttle is tempting fate. To me, it was worth it. It may or may not be worth it to other people.

I used twist throttle all my life on motorcycles and dirt bikes and thats where they belong. Theres good reason quads have thumb throttles. Hit some bumpy terrain when not expecting it and you might find out why.

which do ye guys think is better for racing? im new to the race scene and doing a few mods to my blasty :)
any tips are greatly appreciated :D thanks :D