New but no noob

snake61047

Mar 9, 2013
Northern Illinois
Hi, Im new to the site but not a noob to the whole wrench thing. I have been wrenching and tuning for 11 years. I bught a 03 blaster last summer. Ive been reading posts but not really finding any info im looking for. I am just wondering what things can make better improvements on the machine. Im gonna pipe it later. It already has a toomey silencer on a stock pipe, not sure why. i am running it without an airbox lid and eliminated the oil injection. Is there a good jet for a stock engine other than stock jetting. It seems fat to me. Is there a benifit to advancing the timing. i saw a 4 degree keyway for a banshee, would it work?

Thanks Josh

Stock is #230.

Airbox lid off = 2 sizes more #250

Premix at 32:1 = 1 more size #260

Do not bother buying an advance key, remove the stator plate and elongate the bolt holes 3mm with a round file, this will give +4 degs.

You will not gain any more power but it will come on the pipe sooner.

Ya I was referring to ignition timing. Now I understand that advancing the timing will not give me more power but it will allow power sooner in the rpm range.

alright. i rejetted the machine today. it had a 220 not a 230, and the dealer only had a 250 in stock so i ran it. I have a foam filter in the quad but i never oiled it. should i have? Im in the market for the head pipe from toomey. just waitin for money. What are the Boysen psr? Are they like the carbon fiber reeds in my sled? what else can i do to give my quad better pep and ride? thanks guys

yep, all filters require oil
K&N oil for those or any gauze filter
foam filter oil for those
do not mix oil/filters, use whats intended.

and yes, carbon fiber reeds, adds no power, just crisper/quicker throttle response

you're going to need to "plug chop" for any and all changes you make with flow into or out of the engine.
add a filter = richer jetting
remove the airbox lid = richer jetting