gets spark but will not start

twiztid1

Mar 18, 2014
I have a 95 blaster that was not getting any spark the person i bought it off of said it just needed a new cdi box so i bought one still no spark also bought a new ignition coil still no spark. I downloaded a manual to test the ohms everything checked out except for the wire from the kill switch it was not reading at all. So i searched on here for some answers one person mentioned that you should take the black/white wire off of the cdi box so i unplugged it and finally a spark but it would not start i drained the gas and mixed the new gas 32:1 bought a brand new ngk spark plug and it will not start. I also read to do a compression test so i went and bought a compression tester and im showing 130 psi and have no clue on what else to check or do any help would be greatly appreciated. btw i am new to blasters

Clean the carb and set float levels, Check in on your reeds to see if they are not damaged, check to see if nice steady stream fuel is flowing to the carb.

Welcome to the forum too!

check your reeds as stated above, try starting fluid and if it runs with that you have a fuel delivery problem, dont spray too much because starting fluid isnt lubricating

i plan on cleaning the carb as soon as possible i do have a steady stream of gas coming from the hose when i unplug it from the carb. how do you tell if the reeds are bad, again im sorry if it sounds dumb to some people who are more experienced never had one before. with the starting fluid where should i spray that in at? Is it a good idea when cleaning the carb to go ahead and buy i rebuild kit say off of ebay?

Take your carb off the intake boot and look in on the reeds. Check to see if they are cracked, chipped, or missing. A flashlight will help you see them easier.

I'd try a good through cleaning of your carb first before buying a rebuild kit. Make sure all its cleaned well then blow out all passages with some compressed air.