Carb Switch-will there be an impact

glozito

Feb 19, 2012
Hello All,

I recently rebuilt my lower end and took out the oil injection. The top end was bored 020. I have a spare Mikuni carb 36mm, it fits the boot and the reeds. I have it connected to a twist throttle and the travel of the flat side seems adequate.

I swapped the main jet from the original carb but I just want to make sure that it wont run too lean or cause another issue.

My only concern about using this is that it came off of an RM85 and since i'm not a carb expert, it just seems like there might be some side effects.

I still have the original carb, but it had been performing poorly even after a rebuild prior to the engine pull.

Any thoughts?

i doubt an rm85 came with a 36mm carb?,
and also that 36mm fits into our stock intake boot, it does not.

and you cannot just switch jets from one size carb to the next and hope it works, it will not

return the stock carb into the bike and learn to clean/jet it properly (search on here)

If the motor is stock, you will gain little or no benefit of the larger carby.

Post your mods for someone to comment on jetting and then to confirm that it is right do a plug chop.

If you want to upgrade your carb for a stock motor, a 28mm will give you a little better top end. You have to use a high flow air filter,good pipe and porting to benefit from a larger carb.

Ok guys and gals, my mistake.

The non-stock mikuni carb from the RM85 has a 00RP label and is stamped 03B 00 and HD X1 stamped on the intake side. The intake side measures ~27mm. I couldn't read the jet size from the RM carb, so i have no idea what it is.

For the time being I have removed the tors, put the stock carb on with a 240 main. (oil intake plugged with silicone) and hooked up the twist throttle

I know the RM carb was running smoother and was still hoping to use the flat side instead of the modded blasty carb. If it doesn't make sense, I'm okay with it.