after my 01 blaster warms up, it sputters and dies. please help

dirtrider604

Nov 14, 2011
Fredericksburg, VA
my 01 blaster has the following mods that i know of: paul turner exhaust and silencer, moose air filter and possibly a wiseco piston.... but anyways, when it warms up it wont idle and when driven it sputters and dies. but this is only after it warms up. and it is not overheating. it takes a couple min for me to be able to start it again. idk why. it runs really good when its cold and i never have to use the choke. i took the carb off, cleaned it and moved the main jet needle but it didnt change anything. i think its either starving for fuel or flooding but i dont know. im new to the atv world and this is my 1st quad i gt in a trade for my crf80.

try taking off just the airbox lid ( black cover under the seat) i had the same problem too and that solved it for me. It also could be that u have a bad float or a crapped out needle seat! I would try the easy part first of taking the lid off and if that dosent work get a carb rebuild kit ($15)!

Check your jetting. If the airbox lid has been removed (which I suggest doing), you'll need somewhere around a 280 main jet with the needle in the center clip. Change out that stock main jet for a 280 and adjust the airscrew on the side of the carburetor until the engine idles smoothly (usually 1-2 turns out). This WILL make your engine run better and MAY solve the probelm completely.

the fuel linegoing to the carb, remove it /blow back thru it into the tank. if that changed nothing the carb needs a diy clean and rebuild. If that changes nothing look more closely at the petcock and fuel supply system again.