$100.00 scrap Blaster turned into Rebuild

Aug 21, 2014
Hello I am Carlo
Im new to atv's and 2 strokes the last time was in 1990 and it was my x80 . I go this blaster from a friend who was going to just scrap it he knew nothing about it at all so I took a chance and bought it . I don't know what year it is . but I think its a 1999-2002 and the last few digits of vin are wore away from the boot . I didn't find this forum until I was all most done with the build and did not talke any pictures of it when I got it (I wish I had) but it was COMPLETELY spray painted flat black really poorly , no air filter or cage , been setting for 3+ years , all the tires were flat , the exhaust had a fence post for a baffle
2014-08-22 13.29.51.jpg
, no clutch cable , no breaks but hard to tell because the shifter was completely seized and it was in 1st gear & motor was locked so you could not even roll it .. So my plan was to tare it down and part it out . So I started to tare it down and pressure wash it with hot water and most of the paint came off the frame and all of it came off the plastic and the plastic look pretty good No cracks at all and very few scratches.
2014-07-27 09.17.01.jpg

So I started with the motor tare down when I pulled the clutch cover off and find this
Interesting thing the clutch boss broke and was causing the motor to lock up by 1 of the clutch springs and bolt to hit the clutch cover
2014-08-22 13.24.03.jpg

and now the motor spins free and seams to have good compression . Now to the shifer problem . I pulled the shift shaft out and found it is bent and the transmission shifts perfect .Turns out it the cain poped off at some time and broke the crank case where the shifter comes out of the case but someome did a beautiful weld job on it
2014-08-22 13.25.08.jpg