01 blaster wont start

M

mark

hey i just bought an 01 blaster and it wont start. the guy said when pulled behind a truck it would start but it wont stay running when it stops. what could be the problem?

Try fresh fuel and a new plug. Make sure your 2-stroke oil mixture is good too. I run all my bikes at around 32 to 40:1. Oops im assuming you have your oil injector disconnected. Which is a real easy and you do not even need the block off kit.

ok where is the oil injector located. im new to small motor repair i have done alot of work on cars but never any small motors.

you CAN remove it without putting a block off kit in doesnt mean it was done right.

Im not saying thats what the problem is but, if an oil injection system was removed and not blocked off properly (and or your not premixing fule and oil after the system is removed.) this can cause problems.

so to check to see if the oil injection system has been removed, check under your left rear fender. There is a canister with oil there and a tube the runs up to the right/font side of your clutch cover. Take the 3-4 screws out that hold the small plastic cover on (this is our oil injection cover) and if there is a small thing in there with something that looks like a priming bulb (from like a lawn mower, although that s not what it is) then your injection is intact.

ok my lap top is in the garage with me now. there is no canister under the left rear fender. and the plastic cover on the clutch casing is that the cove that covers the front chain sprocket too? I just took the plug out and gave it a few kicks while it was grounded to the head and there is no spark... ah these little engines are difficult

Well then you prob have a block off kit but you need to make sure. No its not the one that covers the front sprocket (other side) and not the large one.

Since there is no spark you will need to test your electircals, Ive posted this before in the following link. 88' Blaster spark died - Yamaha Blaster Forum