Carbon Fibre DIY

OConnor Racing

Mines Bigger
Technician
Dec 1, 2009
CT
www.kenoconnorracing.com
Let me start by saying I'm not an expert at this nor do I claim to be. I started messing around with this stuff and I'll share what I've learned so far. If anyone has suggestions, I'm all ears. The scope of this DIY is for a Blaster hood but most of the processes can be applied to other parts as well. Carbon fibre is used in all kinds of high tech applications. The biggest advantages are that it's stronger than steel ( tensile strength ) and lighter. They use carbon in NASCAR, medical applications and aircraft parts just to name a few. If you want to try to do some parts, it's going to cost you about $100 for supplies. Not that bad if you think about it. I have no intention of doing this commercially because of the time it takes to make nice looking parts. This is only the first process and I'll add additional information as the project advances.
carbonfibrehood001.jpg

This is what I started with. Sand the part with 120 grit wet/dry paper to rough it up. Use the paper dry. Make sure you sand the bottom where the carbon will wrap around the part.
carbonfibrehood002.jpg

This is the carbon fibre mat. Make sure you cut it big enough to fit the part. You also need to tape the mat where you're going to cut it. If you don't, the strands will pull out. You need very sharp scissors to work with carbon.
carbonfibrehood003.jpg

This is the resin I used. Not the best but it works. Resin can cost $20 - $200 a gallon. This was $17 a qt. From NAPA. It's not as clear as I want but it works as long as it's not applied too thick
carbonfibrehood004.jpg

I also got this from NAPA. Use this for solvent. This is what you need to clean your brushes and tools.
carbonfibrehood005.jpg

This is the catalyst for the resin. This is what makes it harden. I use 12 drops per ounce.