Write up / Info. on Barnett Clutches

MikeTheBoss

May 21, 2008
Nowhere to ride, connecticut
I had lots of trouble finding information on the Barnett clutch kits for specific yfs200. I e-mailed Barnettclutches.com but they still never got back to me. I dont know if they dont give a f*ck or what, but right now im declaring Barnett has HORRIBLE customer service. I dont know what else to say, a company like that should have stand-up reps to help you with your questions. Before installing the clutch I searched and researched all over the internet and read everything about clutches in my Clymers manual because I am a newbie to ATV's (adjusting clutch, inspection, installation, etc...). I cant stress enough how f'ing important that is! If you just research the majority of your questions can be answered instead of posting up topics that have been beaten to death.(ex. How do i tighten my chain. Sprocket sizes. Carb problems). And some guys were nice enough to put up a PDF format for the Yamaha Blaster. USE IT!

Im writing this in part to help out anyone else on the internet that wants to get a Barnett clutch. The clutches do not come with any instructions or anything. Just plates and springs in a bag. So hopefully for those who want to do the installation right they will search for it and most of the problems will be addressed.

I began with taking off the right side case, removing clutch, clutch boss and the clutch basket because I got a new Hinson basket to compliment the clutch. Began to reassemble everything in the order it came out.

Right away I ran into problems as Im reading my Clymers manual on properly installing a new clutch.

1) Barnett clutches DO NOT have one bigger friction plate. I thought I was crazy so I took out the vernial caliper and measured inside and outside diameters and they were all the same. That stumped me for a while.