what jet to start with?

Jeff Bennett

Oct 26, 2014
I am new to the 2 strokes and have read on jets but I am getting my cylinder back from KOR and don't want to chance messing it up. My bike has a fmf fatty and power core 2. I think boysen reeds and a k$n type filter with the lid on. I am at 2400 ft. and its in the 30-40's right now. It has a 230 main in it right now, don't know the pilot. What should I start with when I put it back together? I want to make sure I don't heat cycle it lean. What should I start with? I will plug chop after a couple tanks of gas. I think the 230 is too lean from what I have read. Thanks.

the main jets should have nothing to do with your heat cycles, as it only effects jetting above 3/4 throttle.
you should only be doing light 1/4 - 1/2 throttle blips to warm it up to temp for the heat cycles.
same goes for 10 years from now, light blips to warm it up, not full throttle stabs....ever !

so the 32.5 pilot and stock needle in the middle clip position will do for heat cycles
be sure to set your airscrew @ 1.5 turns out to start and try to tune it for high idle on that first heat cycle so it will idle good. (see airscrew/pilot tuning in carb section)

then after your heat cycles, at your elevation and current temps i'd buy 270 thru 310 mains
throw the 310 in there to "feel" safe during the heat cycles.
start large and work down with plug chops after you get your heat cycles done.

Do not attempt to do a WOT plug chop until you have run 2 tanks of fuel through at no more than 3/4 throttle.

I fear that with your mods a #310 main is going to be way too rich to plug chop.

I would be starting at a #290 for the break in and plug chop.

It may pay to investigate the pilot, it should be #32.5.

It is a good idea to perform a leak test after any rebuild to confirm that everything is air tight, common places to leak are reed Block and carby boot!

Last edited: