Vito's Jet Kit, no good?

jostith

Mar 17, 2010
Bedford, IN
I bought the Vito's jet kit from the fella on here. It was only 20 bucks so it really wasn't a loss but still didn't seem to be a great buy. It came with a new needle which was great over stock, imagine the new shape will be better. The jets included are 290 all the way to 340 or 350 which is massive in my oppinion. The pilot jet (only one included) is only 30... which is smaller, just throwing that out there. Now when you rejet for a new exhaust system, filter, etc. you generally want to go higher on the pilot right?

I'm ordering some parts off of rocky mountain ATV and was thinking about moving to a 37.5 pilot or maybe a 40. I've got an FMF gold exhaust and an FMF silencer (not sure what kind, need to identify it, the sticker came off with the previous owner), and a K and N filter. I'm really new to jetting and doing my best, but those don't seem real good to me. Right now the bike has a 300 in it and the clip is on the 2nd leanest setting and the pilot is at 30. It seems to be running rich because it is really really really smoking (haven't pulled the plug because I have no idea what plug chops are) and it bogs down in 1/4 to 3/4 throttle and at lower rpms. I don't ride it harder at the high rpms so I need something with decent throttle at the lower rpms. Tell me if I ought to jet it differently if anyone knows. Thinking about moving to a 280 main, 37.5 pilot, and the clip where it is.