revs up

96'Blaster240

Feb 18, 2008
hey i just got my blaster running agian a few days ago but it revs up, it's not like an instant all out rev up but it slowly revs up, i was reading up on other topics about this and from what i think and hope it is not an airleak and just bad idle adjustments, but i just wanted a second opinion because i don't want to fire it up and end up breakin something. also i noticed that when i hit the kill switch after a minute or two i looked by the head pipe and noticed some gas leaked out. maybe jets need to be adjusted? i'm really new to the whole 2 stroke engines and really don't want to blow it up or anything but yea if i could get some help i would really appreciate it.

like all i need is some1's opinion on what the problem is, it starts off revving pretty high and i don't just want to tear everything apart just to find out it's the idle screw like i said i don't think it's an air leak because it floods out when i kill it

mine does this sometimes to. just the slow rev up. like when i stop and put it in neutral it slowly revs up. i either kill it, or put it in first and let the clutch out a bit till it slows down the engine then it seems to stop reving up slowly.

not a big issue(maybe it is...duno) but the gas leaking seems to be a bigger problem for you 96blaster.

it sounds either like an airleak or bad air/fuel mixture setting... if you want to rule out the air/fuel mixture --- turn in the air/fuel mixture screw all the way (not too tight though becuz that could damage the aluminum seating) and back it out 1 and a half - 2 turns and go from there, and just don't go out for more than 3 turns because then the screw could vibrate out.... hope this helped...

ok thanks for the help will try tomarrow, also would the 1 and a half turn work if i have a aftermarket keihin carb?

ah dam i have no clue lol it came with the quad i think it looks like a keihin pwk carb but for the size i have no clue and easy way to check?