Odd bogging issue

zjnovak

Aug 19, 2013
Well, let me start off by saying I'm new to the blaster forum. I've been reading on here for a while but now I'm stumped and actually have to post. I recently bought a 1993 Blaster for $300. When I showed up to look at it, he was having a really tough time starting it. 20 mins passed by, and he rolled it down a hill to bump start it. After it warmed up, it ran pretty well. I took her home and started it up the next morning (one kick, choke on). I drove to a trail pretty close to my house, and on my first lap I lost almost all power and then it eventually died. I pushed it back home, checked fuel level, and cleaned the spark plug. It fired up right away, and this time it ran WAY better than before. It was running so well that I ended up riding for over two hours. I came back home and my brother took it for a ride. He made it 300 yards or so before it did the exact same thing as before. This time, it wouldn't start back up. I put fresh premium gas in it and put a new spark plug in it too. It started, but had ridiculously bad bogging. Anything over 1/4 throttle would kill it. I slowly rolled the throttle and it went up pretty high in RPM's. However, if you rapidly hit the throttle, it would die. I've been trying all sorts of things the last four hours, but no such luck.

The bike is completely stock. 230 main jet/clean air filter/ new NGK plug. Top end was rebuilt within the last month. Last owner says he did a leak test and compression test.