nitro r/c

blasterboy32

Jan 9, 2012
harrisburg, pennsylvania
Anybody else on here into nitro RC? I just got into the hobby yesterday. I bought a traxxas rustler 2.5 for $125 is that a good deal? It can with a bunch of other parts and tools and it has someaftermarket parts. I already broke a tie rod and whatever the name of things are that take place of upper a arms. I guess I'm gonna have to get metal ends for these and all the others. I have a few questions though. It came with 20% nitro fuel. Is that the right stuff to run in it? Its pull start so I have to use the glow plug ignited. Should it start without the glow plug ignited after its warmed up or do I have to use it every time? How do I adjust the idle? I was using the throttle trim knob on the controller but wasn't sure if that's the right way to do it. What does the screw that's by the motor do? It kinda looks like an air screw. Thanks in advance for any help as I'm new to this and really have no idea what I'm doing.

20% nitro is fine as long as it's "car" fuel with lots of oil.

Methanol degrades explosively upon contact with hot platinum (the material the glowplug coil is made out of) and creates the "spark" once the engine's running. Unfortunately, it requires that the platinum be heated before it'll do so. basically, you'll need the glow plug igniter (battery) every time you want to start the engine. you MIGHT get lucky and have it start hot without the glowplug igniter but it's unlikely.

The idle is adjustable by the length (clevis to clevis) of the pushrod going from the servo to the carburetor or on the remote. Both basically do the same thing as long as neither is limiting your maximum throttle trim.