kick starter issue

poorboy12

Feb 27, 2013
I just recently bought an 01 blaster and the kickstart does nothing. sometimes it will turn engine over but mostly dont. i took the side cover off the engine and all the gears look fine. i tried putting it back it worked two or three kicks then did the same thing. so i looked at the idler gear i guess it is what it is called and the engine itself has a crack above it. will that cause this problem. i am new to this and off to a bad start

when you took the side off did you coil the spring arround till it got tight and the pit it into that tiny hole at arround the 11oclock position. it shouldent be break off tight just enough to make you cuss if it falls out while putting the cover on I did this few times and my stiff kick came back to start up 1or 2nd kick instead of the 9th

i just put spring in hole and twisted it around till it went in the tiny hole . then put cover on it work two times then went back to not doing anything it was just a kick spinning nothin but kickstart always came back up like spring was working just never turn engine over

if it still dosent then you may need a new spring I'm confused because that should have worked. wait you have to twist it arround then put it in the hole not the other way. try that if it still dosent then you may need that new spring

i put the spring in the hole on shaft then spun it and put it in case. put it back together and it work two times then it goes back to spinning air but the kickstarter alway comes back up like spring is working. the idler gear which is gear that when u kick start it comes out and spins has a crack in the housing. i wonder if thats my hole problem. its causing the idler gear to move maybe and un lining the kickstarter gear