im new to blasters

jokerfacewild

Mar 26, 2013
eastern pa
Hey this thursday im picking up a 2002 blaster and I know nothing abou mods. I need help with two things. It is bone stock except it is bored .40over to a 210. Syocl exhaust and stock gearong. 32-1 premix. He has no idea about the jet and I was wondering what size main jer I should be running. Also front and back brakes barely work. Where shoild I start woth that. Thank you for your time

Welcome to the forum. You want to learn and do a leak down test and a plug chop. I'm not sure what exhaust you listed. You can ether try fixing your stock brakes or upgrade to Awk08 rear GSXR brake and get some custom front spindles from Ken O'Conner racing that let's you bolt on Banshee front brakes.

Boring 40 over puts it about 198cc.

If is has any type of aftermarket pipe on it I would be making real sure that it has at least a #270-#280 main jet in it.

As said, leak test and plug chop before riding it.

14mqc1y.jpg

Before you make the plug chop run it is important that the float level is correct, the idle is set correctly and there are no air leaks in the system, otherwise the smoke ring may lie about the AFR.

WHEN ALL OF THE ABOVE ARE CORRECT PROCEED WITH THE FOLLOWING.

Warm up motor to operating temp.

Fit new B8ES plug, ride through the gears and hold WOT in 5th or 6th gear for 10 seconds, or as long as you can safely.

Switch off the motor and pull in the clutch, apply brakes to come to a stop quickly.

Take the plug out and replace the old one for the ride home.

Carefully cut the threaded end off the plug to expose the insulator.

There should be a smoke ring of a cardboard or biscuit colour around the insulator.

If it is non existant or a very light colour, you are lean and require a larger main jet.

If it is a lot darker you are rich and may go down a size in main.