Crank Case Seal Replacement / Other / Suggestions?

lucknuts

Apr 27, 2019
Hey all,

I'm new to this forum and I apologize cause I'm also new to working on small engines. I have a 2004 Yamaha Blaster 200 or aka YFS200 I believe. I bought it used, ran it all year last year and for a couple months so far this year. Never had any issues, ran like a charm.

I recently road the living crap out of it through fields and marsh and through wet mud and just went a-wall with it. Was a blast. Cleaned it all up the next day and warmed it up and it was giving off white smoke and when riding it and giving it the throttle it just sputtered and acted like it was drowned out and didn't want to go. I know i need to do some maintenance on it so I'm going through it all right now. As much as possible.

Right now I got the pipe off, the carb out to be cleaned, all fluid is ou t of it, I took the top off and the top of the piston is black, the spark plug is black. Opened the stator side and replaced the seal, overall inside that was pretty clean. Ran into a bunch of issues from previous owners with the screws being all jacked up, they were Phillips head, got them out though and need to find replacement screws. (Any ideas where to get them besides hardware store? Is there pre-packs? Seen some on amazon although no engine kits available.)

So now I'm tearing apart the clutch side or crank side seal and I got the dumbest question I feel like, might be one of those days. How do I get the brake pedal out of the way in order to get the case off? (see picture) I just don't want to take off more than needed. Is there a way to let it loose to hang down? I'm assuming I also need to take the kickstart pedal off too.

Been searching or video's so I'm only guessing everyone already has knowledge on how to do it since most videos jump right into showing the gears.