any suggestions guys??

chrishimself

Jun 27, 2013
So I have a 93 200cc, no mods just stock. I'm pretty new to the 2strokes so any suggestions will help. My quad won't start. It has spark, its getting gas to the plug and I've tried starting it without the air filter on. So the main three things are out of the way. I've cleaned the carb and tried 2 new sparkplugs. Its cranking over and all 3 elements are there to ignite but only backfires on occasion. Now, on the carb there's an idle control and mixture control.. I've done research on properly adjusting them but yet it still won't start in any positions the two are in. Please help I've been trying for about a week now.. thanks, chris :)

Well you need to do a compression and leak test. The mixture screw should be 1.5 turns out from a LIGHTLY seated position.

If the compression and leak test check out than you need to give the carb a GOOD cleaning. Should have a 32.5 pilot jet, 230 main jet, and a 5J22 needle. Then you need to make sure you have a fat blue spark, not a little yellow one.

Last edited:
Well you need to do a compression and leak test. The mixture screw should be 1.5 turns out from a LIGHTLY seated position.

If the compression and leak test check out than you need to give the carb a GOOD cleaning. Should have a 35.5 pilot jet, 230 main jet, and a 5J22 needle. Then you need to make sure you have a fat blue spark, not a little yellow one.

35.5 pilot? stock pilot is a 32 I thought?

Inspect the reeds for damage or not seating.

Could be flooded, is the float level correct.

When kicking keep your thumb off the throttle.

Get the air filter back on pronto.