air intake tube carb to air box

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by roostinblaster, May 15, 2009.

  1. roostinblaster

    roostinblaster New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    fab shop / driver
    Location:
    durham/creedmoor
    i just got my blaster and it has the 34mm carb on it and the stock air tube would not work on it so i got a piece of 2 1/4 inch flexi exhast tubing and it fits perfect so im gonna take that and cut the factory tube back to where the flexi tube will fit inside the rubber hose and put a clamp on that too i call it my half ass cold air intake ill take pics when i do it and post them up im stoked about it
     
  2. Blasterdude27

    Blasterdude27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7,592
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Just outside of fairbanks ak
    Sounds sweet! jes make sure theres no air leaks.
     
  3. tjsdaname

    tjsdaname Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,473
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    85
    Occupation:
    Owner & Operator
    Location:
    IA
    thats actually how I did it until I got a new airbox.....

    it worked perfect
     
  4. roostinblaster

    roostinblaster New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    fab shop / driver
    Location:
    durham/creedmoor
    sweet man i was sittin in the parts store for like 30 45 min tryin to figure it out and thought about it and bout it and pulled the carb out and put it on and it fit fricken perfect but one question how far back did you cut yer stock air tube
     
  5. tjsdaname

    tjsdaname Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,473
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    85
    Occupation:
    Owner & Operator
    Location:
    IA
    im not sure....

    I just cut a little, tried to fit it and cut a little more if i needed to....
     
  6. roostinblaster

    roostinblaster New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    fab shop / driver
    Location:
    durham/creedmoor
    10-4 that works im gonna have to go out to the shop and stretch it just a hair to fit over the ridge in the flexi pipe but i like it already
     
  7. YZ Otis

    YZ Otis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    84
    Occupation:
    Expert sand trail groomer!
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    Here's a another version of that same idea. This was for a 38mm but ya just choose the right size coupler for your carb. Not real pretty but it worked.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. roostinblaster

    roostinblaster New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    fab shop / driver
    Location:
    durham/creedmoor
    i revised my plan today i got it all hooked up i went and got a radiator hose that was bent almost perfect i took the guts out of the air box and put the flared end of the hose on the carb then put the other end inside the airbox and got one of the 4" crome air filters from the parts store its just gonna be temporary till i can figure something else out monday i am gonna get a thick piece of rubber or plastic and screw it to the airbox and cut out for the hose and seal every thing ill take pix tomorrow looks pretty good i think
     
  9. Blasterjohny

    Blasterjohny Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    East, Texas
    What brand carburetor did you go with I'm looking to buy one did your bike run good with a 34mm?
     
  10. Slydog

    Slydog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Diesel mech
    Location:
    Florida
    This is a very old thread.a 34. Would be big for a stock bore . unless you have ported cylinder. Then it might work good .Ussualy Used on big bore blasters
     
    Blasterjohny likes this.

Share This Page