sputtering and bogging!

blooper

Nov 30, 2014
Twentynine Palms, CA
Hello, I am new to BF but I have searched on the site many times over the past year to help me out. Here is my problem and then I'll explain mods and such.
Bike starts on 1st or 2nd kick every time. You have to give it a little gas to get it started. Once bike is started it will not idle without dieing. If you pull the throttle a little it will stay running but sputtering. Once its warmed up you can pull on the throttle all the way and it will bog down but stay running. I can ride it and it seems to pick up more power the higher gears I go but still bogs down when you pin it. Bike smokes like a white color and smokes more as you ride it.

03 Blaster
Bored 40 over
34mm carb- filter on a pipe straight off the Carb
170 jet size
boysen reeds with throttle body spacer
LRD pipe and silencer
Twist throttle

Mutiple items are new on this bike from a previous electrical issue. No leaks where found when a leak down was conducted.
Thanks for the help.

Last edited:
OK don't know if this would effect it but the pipe has a crack in it where the mounting bracket is. I can see smoke coming out of it. I don't think the crank is leaking, the exhaust definatley smells like fuel. I can take the air filter off completely and it runs the same.

the pipe cracked is definately creating a lean condition by sucking air back into the cylinder during it's scavenging phase <(why a 2 stroke pipe has the big expansion chamber, to suck unburnt gasses back into the cylinder)

is the TORS circutry deleted to rule that out
http://www.blasterforum.com/threads/03-06-tors-removal-diy.41973/

clean the carb, check float level, set airscrew, plug chop < DIY's found here........
http://www.blasterforum.com/forums/carburetor.138/

leakdown test, new B8ES plug, and check woodruff key to see if flywheel is in time.

Reactions: Maniacmotomouth