High Mileage Vehicle

Herpderplol

BRRAAAAAAAAAPP
Aug 22, 2012
Dickinson, ND
So our school has a tech club (im guessing most do?) This is some cool stuff we are doing.

Giz is on the electric car, and solar trailer if he wants to share about it he can...

I am leading the Super Mileage car. We have had the frame and body done for 4 (?) years. This is my first year running the car as the leader.
I have a few other people "helping" with the project.

Our supervisor is somewhat of a procrastinator, and hates spending money (he will get grants for everything!)

Anyways, we had to write our proposals to enter the vehicles in the last week. So now we are working on the cars.

So far there are no modifications done to the engine, we have a junior 206 briggs engine. We literally probably get 2 mpg (yeh, super mileage car right?)

How the car was run last year is by running the engine to get up to the 25 mph (limit is 25) and killing the engine. Coasting until almost stopped, start the engine and go again. The track is 3 miles on one lap. To qualify we need to make it 2 laps...

We are running in a modified class, just what my instructor chose.

So, what am i getting at? Not much, just making a thread about it, and will post some pictures in the coming days when we work on it.
Also, looking for any ideas on how we could get better mileage. I have google searched a lot.

Things NEEDED:
Order a new camera and screen (required to have rearview mirror or camera)
Get disc brakes on rear (running bike style pinch, they DONT work....)
Install windshield (have it, too hot last year to drive with it on)
^^^Also means we need cooling - I plan to put small vents on the sides of the body to draw air in, and giz said use air duct piece in the front to scoop air.