High Idle and Knock - Carb/Engine Problem

F

flipp3r

I'm a newbie, and recently picked up 2 blasters (89 and 92) from 2 different people. Here's the low down on each:

1989 Blaster - Has title issues, ran 3 years ago when parked. Reson for selling - "got a new quad". Was going to use this a donor, if needed. Stock engine, Oil Injection removed, FMF Fatty Gold head pipe w/ core 2 silencer. Cleaned the fuel tank and carb. Going to change the trans oil. Waiting on tht FMF spring kit to secure the head pipe. Haven't tried to start it yet.

1992 Blaster - Clean title, all stock engine, Oil Injection removed. Owner said it died after running through a puddle and it had never ran again. He thought it was electrical and never tried to track it down. Reason for sale - "they don't ride anymore".

I am trying to get the 1992 running and here's what I've done:
- Cleaned Fuel Tank
- Cleaned Carb
- Went through all wiring and cleaned connections
- Tested all electronics (all were good, except the Coil showed Ohms out of spec. The Orange to ground was at like 1.91 and the orange to tip was way off, I figured I wasn't doing this part right. )
- Removed TORS
- Changed sparkplug
- Changed the Trans oil (Yamalube 4 10w30)

I noticed that the sparkplug the guy had in there was the wrong one. It had a very small electrode, but looked like it had actually been running ok. I put the correct plug in, gapped at .30. I put everything back together and put a mix of 91 octane and Yamalube 2S in at a 32:1 ratio. I figured we'd see what happens when I kick it, expecting nothing since I thought the coil was bad. I kicked it twice with the choke on the first notch and it fired after 2 kicks.

So, here's the problem...