Custom Airbox? Help

teamcrackitrace

Apr 13, 2011
Hello ya'll. I'm new to the Blaster forum here and such. My friend has an 04 blaster laying around ever since he sold the airbox out of it for money to work on his yfz/ He has since sold the yfz, and I wanna get the blaster running. So I decided to fab up an airbox and wanted to get your opinions on a couple of things. I made the box 8" tall, 9" long, and 6.75" wide. This is about the same as the factory airbox, except this one is rectangular because he has the oil blockoff kit. What I need to know is; what kind of air filter will work on this? I've seen very small ones on ebay that only have about a 1.5" inlet diameter. However, on the project blastr site, their air filter takes up the whole box, which looks like its the same size my box is. What kind of filter should i use? It seems like i could use a cone cylinder from a car to work, has anybody done that before? Also, how do most people patch these back to the carb? He has a 30mm carb on it. I was thinking that PVC pipe would work, especially since its light and cheap. RUn PVC from the airfilter through the box back to the carb, and then attach the PVC to the carb with some rubber hosing. Has anybody done a setup like this? Any help is appreciated!

I would run a UNI filter, look at there site. I would pick the biggest one you can fit in the box....

It wont hurt it if I run too big of an air filter, will it? Because in that case I will just go to advance auto and pick out a K&N :p

That's what I figured but I wasn't sure. Any ideas how to cheaply patch a 3" diameter filter back to a 30 mil (~1.3") carb?

duct tape, rubber plumbing fittings and pvc from home depot homie lol I:I I:I