New to Blasters

Tim Steele

Oct 6, 2007
Front Royal, VA
There has been a Blaster parked in the corner of my storage building for 3 years,one of those "get it running and I'll square up with you later" deals. 3 years later no money or parts show up haven't even heard from the guy. ( a friend)
I have a lot of 2 stroke experience and bike experience ,but very little reed motor experience. I have only owned 1 RD 350 Yamaha , the rest of my 2 strokes have been Kawaskai triples from the 70s. Here's a pic of one of my bikes and the Blaster as it looked when I drug it out of the storage building beside my shop:
ex17magconv2.jpg

1975 Kawasaki H1 500 chassis, late 71 H2 750 engine (500 badges meant to mislead:-D:-D:-D ) 34 roundslide Mikunis, FPP pipes, Neville Lush racing ignition, Dunstall rear sets. Front forks ,mag and braking system late EX 500 Kawasaki , early Ex 500 Kawasaki rear mag, approximately 100 HP. 130MPH in about 11 seconds. Stage I porting by yours truly ,running Bel Ray SI-7 though the pump.
and the Blaster:
Blaster5oct07before.jpg
FMF pipe , K&N air filter main jet 270 pilot unknown, pilot airscrew at 1.5 compression 95 cold .115 after 4 hours of kicking and cussing The Blaster will run for about 2 seconds then die , cleaned carb , good gas ,all kinds of spark when I pull the plug and lay it on the head??
I'll be needing some help and advice from Y'All. Thanks in advance.
Tim Steele in Mossy Head, FL
1st question : How do I tell what year it is??

clean the filter,drian the trans oil,change the spark plug if it still makes all kinds of spark it could be the coil.

does this blaster have an oil injection block off????? if there is no oil tank you have to premix

the way u tell what year is on the left side of the frame stamped, i forgot which numbers mean the year though