Air box lid

Clip should be in the middle. If it runs better with the lid off it alludes that you have a problem of being rich, it could be in part to the warm temps combined with a high elevation??? causing it to be rich. I'm not an expert on jetting, so maybe someone else can chime in on that. Did you check the float levels? Also what kind of air filter and you might have put too much oil on it. How does it idle, does the idle screw make much difference? I know it seems that taking the lid off just fixes your problem, but if whatever is causing you to run rich changes than it will be rebuild time before you know it!

Here I stole this from blaaster on another thread, they might be helpful
To ensure that the correct AFR is delivered to the engine one must do all of the following.

Leak test, often.
Set float level.
Clean all jets/passages in carb.
Set idle.
Clean air filter.
Make sure that there are no leaks/blockages in either exhaust and inlet passages, including carb nipple and cap.
Check the fuel flows freely through float bowl drain whilst the engine is running.
Check tank vent for blockage.
Make sure the is no flooding.

The float level should 20 - 21.5 on a stock carb, now set the idle as follows.

Idle adjusting.

Set float level, make sure that all jets are clean and fuel flows freely from the float bowl drain when the screw is cracked open.

Start with air screw 1.5 turns out.

Set idle screw so that it has some sort of idle. With TORS it is the big screw under seat on top of unit. With no TORS is is the brass screw midway down carb body.

Warm up motor and then set idle screw for a faster idle, 2000rpm+

Adjust air screw either way to get the fastest idle.

Adjust air screw a little at a time leaving 10 secs or until the motor responds.

Re adjust idle screw for desired idle .

You need not touch the air screw again, except marginally if it bogs when giving it throttle.

The middle clip is the most common place on the needle.