Yamaha Blaster Top end rebuild (DIY)

usamahmoola

Dec 14, 2012
Hi guys! I'm new here.. I've got a 06" Blaster and i need to rebuild the top end, I've sent my cylinder to the machine shop and the guy said it seems fine so it will NOT need to be bored. So i bought a 66.00mm (stock size) Wiseco piston and i need to drop it in. It's my first time doing this so i would really appreciate some advice and tips etc..
And also how to i torque the cylinder? Could anyone suggest a good torque tool that will get in there!

Thanks

what was the reason it needed rebuilt ?
broken piston skirt ?..... low compression ?
if one of those /\ reasons....it needed bored to at least the next over size.
if not one of those reasons...it didn't need rebuilt.

remove the fuel tank and pipe and a reguler torque wrench with an extension will reach the head bolts.

some use a crows foot attached to the torque wrench on the base nuts..............

http://www.harborfreight.com/7-piece-3-8-eighth-inch-crowfoot-metric-wrench-set-94427.html

crow.jpg

what was the reason it needed rebuilt ?
broken piston skirt ?..... low compression ?
if one of those /\ reasons....it needed bored to at least the next over size.
if not one of those reasons...it didn't need rebuilt.

remove the fuel tank and pipe and a reguler torque wrench with an extension will reach the head bolts.

some use a crows foot attached to the torque wrench on the base nuts..............

http://www.harborfreight.com/7-piece-3-8-eighth-inch-crowfoot-metric-wrench-set-94427.html

View attachment 28025
Note sure exactly what happened as i bought the bike like this. A very small piece of the piston is broken off.. the cylinder does seem fine and it has been honed. Oh yes, does honing affect the bore size?

skirt breakage is usually a result of piston slapping around in a loose bore.
I'd bet real $ that if the piston was wore to that point, so is the cylinder/bore.

is this a reputable shop that told you it didn't need bored ?