Yamaha Blaster Piston Slap

meepz

Nov 7, 2013
Hello,

This is my first time owning an ATV personally. Growing up I had a dirtbike and a 350 Rancher atv, but my father did most of the maintenance on them. I've never had a 2-stroke ATV before and noticed some noise coming from the engine and would love if anyone had an idea if it is piston slap or if it just the normal sound of a blaster.

It is a 2001 Yamaha Blaster with all stock except foam air filter and oil block off kit. My knowledge of anything mechanic is pretty basic but I have pretty good at picking things up. If the problem is isolated, I'm sure I will be able to fix it.

I've included a video:
Video here

Here is a better video

The ATV started up weird today too. The high revving at the end then it shut off. I checked the choke and it was out all of the way so I don't know why it did that.

Last edited:
sounds like it needs a rebuild if you keep running it with slap you will break a pisyon skirt.As for the reving it could be an air leak leak test it

Just did some searching and I will be getting a kit. What are signs to look for when determining the bore. And if I need to bore the cylinder, how much does that go for?

Last edited:
Has the carby been jetted for the foam filter and pre mix, check the main jet, it should be in the region of #260.

Blaster motors are notoriously noisy, if you have concerns that the piston is slapping do the following.

Leak test, then pull of the top end and have piston and bore measured.

I they measure out of specs replace them.

Before I pulled down , I would be inclined to remove the header pipe and look up the exhaust port for signs of piston damage.

14mqc1y.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't believe the carb has been jetted. I recently purchased the ATV about a week ago so my information is limited.

Foam Filter:
Should I replace the size of the jets for the foam filter? I will open it up today and see if I can get a brand/model of the filter

Leak Down Test: