Why block oil injector?

Crazy Chicken

Apr 4, 2011
Midland, MI
I'm new to this. Why do you block off the oil injector? What are the benefits? And how does the bottom end get its lubrication?:-/ Thanks for any info. Still got lots to learn. Just love Blast'n.

Boomer | Rydin Dirty

Nearly everyone complains about the oil injector (Autolube) that comes stock on every Yamaha Blaster. Some say it is unreliable, and will break. Others say that the 20:1 mix ratio puts too much oil into the motor. Many people block off the injector for this reason, there are many kits avaliable to do this.

As a Blaster owner for two years, an everyday reader of the Blaster Central BBS, I belive I have heard nearly every argument for and against the oil injector.

In the past few years I have heard of 3-4 people who say their injectors have gone bad and caused their motors to sieze. Most of the time they do not even consider that other factors could be involved. The just assume that the injector must have quit, every so-called expert says it isn't any good. Still, no one has ever proved that the injector was at fault.

Even IF it was, improper care usually causes failure. I have to wonder if the operator was carfull when he filled the tank up, or if he filled it while the quad was dirty and droped bits of mud into the tank.

I belive the Blaster's oil injection is 100% reliable. While I realize anything, and everything can fail, I do know that the injector system is no more likely to fail than any other engine part.

The fact is, my own 1998 Yamaha Blaster's oil injection system has held up to 5175 miles of use, without a single problem.

The first ATV ever to finish the 6000+ mile Paris to Dakar rally was a 1997 Yamaha Blaster. He ran oil injection, and the quad ran fine the entire time.

I sure hope that dispells the reliability myth.