Replacing spark plug on 04 blaster

Ashweeb07

Feb 21, 2018
So I'm new to this and I'm pretty sure that its not that hard but I just want some advice. I'm planning to buy an 04 blaster, they say it needs a new spark plug its not running currently. Hasn't been used for a while either. I wondering how hard is it to swap those out? Can I do it at home? Or do I have to take it in?

You can do it at home, its right on top of motor, pull plug boot, unscrew old plug and get a new b8es plug and torque it down to 18ft lbs then put rubber boot back on

Riddle me this ??
A new plug cost $3 , takes 3 minutes to change.
Makes it worth $ HUNDREDS $ more instanly .
Why would someone NOT do it ??

What I am saying is that it probably needs more than a spark plug.
What are they asking for it??
Have any pics ??

I know it will most likely require more, I'm expecting to have to clean the carb out. Make sure the jets aren't clogged all that stuff, it has good compression, the guy took it in regularly for servicing. Besides getting a spark plug I guess my question is in general experience how easy is it to get it to start. They're asking $800 for an 04

Well, not running I'd start at 650. Depends on how bad they want to get rid of it.
It could be a lot of stupid little stuff. Worst case would be a bad CDI.

ONLY way to know if it has good compression is with a tester.

Reactions: Ashweeb07
Yes use a compression tester and tell us the results, id say look over the bottem of the engine cases for cracks before buying it too, there not to hard to get running

Also of anybody knows the socket size for this spark plug that would be appreciated. I know they typically come with a tool bag, wont be getting that in the deal though. Thanks

13/16 socket for spark plug or just buy a spark plug wrench sold at a lot of auto parts store or atv motorcycle store easy as thato_O ngk b8es or br8es spark plug.
also that thing does not need a new plug it is something else more expensive:D