Newly Installed Clutch Pads

Jaeger

Aug 3, 2019
Hello,

This is my first time posting here. I've tried to find information on this subject here on the forums, the service manual, and a couple friends. Maybe I'm just blind, but I couldn't find it.

The problem is the clutch doesn't seem to be engaging when I squeeze the lever (I made sure it's lined up on the engine case). The second I put it into first it just lurches forward and dies. Starts up on the first kick and idles just fine though. It had started doing this last summer so I decided to store it and overhaul it the next year to try to find the issue.

Fast forward to now and I finished putting it all back together and torquing everything to spec according to the service manual. It's a 1999 Blaster (the one in my profile pic) and the only aftermarket mods it has are the DG exhaust pipe and muffler, and Boyesan 630 power reeds (installed a day ago because I noticed the old ones had a worn edge). I also disabled/removed the oil pump system (pre-mixing now) and the TORS. I won't go into cosmetic work done, but I pulled the cylinder off to inspect and clean the walls, piston, rings, etc (all looked good) and new gaskets installed. Pulled the clutch cover off and replaced the clutch pads and springs with new ones, everything torqued, and new Bel Ray 80W oil added (suggested by Ray C's bike shop). Did a leak down test on the motor and found no bubbles. The carb is clean as a whistle and has the stock 230 jet and I've made sure the mix screw is at the stock 1.5 position.