New owner....used Blaster!

Coralkong

Jan 2, 2012
Hello everyone!

I just bought my 16 year old son a 2005 (could be a '04) Blaster that still has the stock back wheels/tires on it.

The tires are beat and need to be replaced (Cheng Shin) 21x10-8's.
Rims are in excellent shape, but tires are almost bald.

Here's my question:

I see there appears to be very little in the way of selection for 21X10-8 replacement tires (exact size replacement).

HOWEVER, I also see tons of replacements that are CLOSE in size (say 20X10-8, or even, 20X11-8's, 20X11-9's if I wanted to replace the rims.....).

Can you "drop in" replace 20X11-8's or do you NEED to buy new rims to do that? (In other words, will a 20-11-8 fit on a 21x10-8 stock rim?)

I am looking at Kenda Cutter tires, btw....or should I just eat it and replace the rims with the new tire purchase?
Will I need to widen the axels with spacers if I do this?

Sorry, but I am a noob.

Any tire will fit as long as it is for an 8 inch rim. So you have 21x10x8, as long as that 8 stays constant, you can get almost any size for the first two numbers. If you want to switch to 9 inch rims, you can buy Yamaha Warrior rims and hubs, that will bolt right onto the blaster axle. Does that make sense?

Welcome to the dirt pile! You came to the right place.

Yes, the tires you're looking at will fit the stock rims. You don't get many tire choices with the blaster rear rims. A good option is to get some rear hubs from a banshee, raptor, warrior or yfz. Then get some rear rims to fit these hubs and you'll have a ton more tire & rim options.

I originally bought some 20x11-8 ITP's that worked great for the blaster....but then I found a set of YFZ rear hubs and rims/tires for a good price and made the switch.

Just a thought.....

Thanks, guys!

It does make sense, the "8" in 21x10-8 meaning 8" rim.

So it really doesn't matter if it is 20x11-8, they should fit?