New Blaster strip and rebuild in the UK

StevieN

Aug 11, 2012
Glasgow Scotland
Hey got myself a 2004 Blaster last week and have decided to try and make it look as good as i can, i will post pics of this for everyone to see the progress, this is how it looked when i picked it up last week IMG_1378.jpg

IMG_1377.jpg

The quad needs alot of work for me to get it were i want it to be, started the strip taking longer than i thought as i have never done anythin like this before so it new to me! i have messed about with bikes in the past but never in this scale lol! so here goes!!IMG_1380.jpg

Ok so plastics, tank, seat, carb etc are all off now its time to start on the frame as i said i started this last week so i am posting pics of work i have already done ;-) so time for the engine, axle, brakes, pegs, a-arms shocks to be removed so all we'r left with is a bare frame, not as bad as i thought so far, just been tagging and bagging every nut, screw and bolt

no better way to learn these machines than a full tear down and rebuild !
you'll get to bypass the bag-n-tag next go round, as you'll know your blaster ...every nut and bolt

keep them pics coming as it progresses !!!!!

professional ac jack ftw!!!!!

Thats some serious tools your working with =))))

On the mountian it was the log lifts lmao.

An i belive it might be a little bent but nice work one week with the blaster an you have stripped it

Haha ye its just the way its sitting! waiting on my jack so a old microwave will do for now lol!

So thats it fully stripped and getting ready to send for powder coating(think i am going with, Frame, swing arm and wheel hubs KTM Orange, Brakes, handle bars, A-arms and axle Gloss Black and grab bar, front bumper and exhaust Chrome

New parts ordered so far are

K&N Air filter
YZF450 Front Shocks
YZF450 Rear Shock
HERRMANN LONG TRAVEL A ARM KIT BLACK

Thats what i have ordered so farIMG_1395.jpg