modifying a reed spacer to accept different reed cages

98mod

Feb 15, 2016
texas
Hello all, I am new to blaster forum. I recently picked up a 98 blaster for dirt cheap. The reeds were shot so I replaced them and boom. She fired right up. I read somewhere a guy modified a reed cage spacer to accept cr125 reeds. Is this actually possible and will there be any benefits cfm increase or a performance gain? I've done a few engine mods ,top end exc and wonder if this will help or just be a waste of time

You can do it with an OEM cylinder. It's allot of work though. Are there performance gains,,,, Probably ... is it worth the trouble for the performance gains ??? I believe a vf4 Reed cage would be in line of the same gains but with less hassle..

Reactions: OConnor Racing
I'm trying to do it all within a tight budget so the v force is out of reach at moment. What about 1990s model yz250 reeds some have the outside bolt patterns like the blaster but with 3 petals top and bottom?

I'm trying to do it all within a tight budget so the v force is out of reach at moment. What about 1990s model yz250 reeds some have the outside bolt patterns like the blaster but with 3 petals top and bottom?
Sorry, but "Tight budget" and performance increase don't go together well.
Even the CR cage mod has never been that popular. Cost/effort/gain. And have never seen yz250 cage used.
By the time you get a cage, new reeds, mod cyl , be near cost of V4. If $$$ is that tight , port stock cage and get 2 stage reeds.

Reactions: OConnor Racing
Yea I agree got a bounch of specs on reed cages it not worth the hassle I'll just get the v4z instead . Do you have the v forces and how do you like em if you do.

How did you port you stock cage? that was another idea I had I know to avoid the tips and inner edges where the petals sit.

Knew you were going to ask that. :D