LED headlight?

Discussion in 'Lights' started by Sauce440, May 28, 2013.

  1. Sauce440

    Sauce440 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    what would i have to do to put a LED light in my blaster. Ive been searching a lot on here and couldnt find much on it.
     
  2. Herpderplol

    Herpderplol BRRAAAAAAAAAPP

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    6,292
    Likes Received:
    493
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Spending Money
    Location:
    Dickinson, ND
    Get ac to dc converter
     
  3. Sauce440

    Sauce440 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    where do i get one of those
     
  4. Awk08

    Awk08 Administrator Staff Member Technician

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    24,286
    Likes Received:
    2,191
    Trophy Points:
    175
    Occupation:
    Electrician/Contractor
    Location:
    Pa.
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2014
  5. Sauce440

    Sauce440 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    Soo those I can just put in and they'll work?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 28, 2013
  6. Awk08

    Awk08 Administrator Staff Member Technician

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    24,286
    Likes Received:
    2,191
    Trophy Points:
    175
    Occupation:
    Electrician/Contractor
    Location:
    Pa.
    yes, if you have housings that fit mr16 bulbs
     
  7. Sauce440

    Sauce440 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    will it work with stock housing?
     
  8. Blaaster

    Blaaster Moderator Staff Member Technician Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15,386
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pensioner
    Location:
    eastern australia




    . .
     
  9. KingJPW

    KingJPW Blasteraholic

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Sauce - I will be doing a DIY soon for my 12VDC battery and LED Headlight.

    Note the main headlight(24w) and the two LEDs to the left and right (9w ea.):

    [​IMG]

    You need to add/mount a Rectifier/Regulator (somewhere) and connect/wire/solder the Green wires to each side of lighting coil on stator. This requires cutting/removing the ground on one side of Lighting Coil. Black wire below goes to frame/ground. Red wire goes to new Battery Positive terminal under seat. Battery Negative terminal goes to frame/ground. Then you wire a power lead from Battery Positive terminal (with 5A fuse) to handlebar stuff via existing yellow/red wire.

    [​IMG]

    Hope this helps for now.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2013
  10. Sauce440

    Sauce440 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    i dont have a battery on mine,will it still work?
     
  11. KingJPW

    KingJPW Blasteraholic

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    No, I am saying to add a battery if you want to do this.
     
  12. Blaaster

    Blaaster Moderator Staff Member Technician Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15,386
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pensioner
    Location:
    eastern australia
    There is no need for a battery unless you need the light when the motor is not running.

    A LED will happily operate on the supply that the stator delivers, providing that it is rectified/regulated.
     
  13. Sauce440

    Sauce440 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    ill give this a try when I get out of school and im sitting at home bored...lol
     
  14. snowmobra

    snowmobra New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lancaster pa
    That bad ass. I been look for brighter head light every where. I did the Wally headlights and I don't like them that much. Did u get them from eBay. Will my stator handle two of them
     
  15. KingJPW

    KingJPW Blasteraholic

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yes, search ebay '24w led flood' or '18w led flood' and you will get results. Stock stator can put out 55w I believe. 2x24=48 watts or 2x18=36watts. I think two @ 18=36watts would be better.
     
    Sauce440 likes this.
  16. Chuckthizzle

    Chuckthizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Valley and Bay Area California
    Wow nice mod im going to try that
     
  17. snowmobra

    snowmobra New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lancaster pa
    i have a 75w stator and if i put a battery on my blaster how many watts will i be pushing now
     
  18. Blaaster

    Blaaster Moderator Staff Member Technician Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15,386
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pensioner
    Location:
    eastern australia
    Watts are not pushed, watts are drawn.

    A 75 watt unit will allow 75 watts to be drawn without overheating or overloading.

    If you fit a battery you will be able to draw countless watts, depending on the size of the battery.
     
  19. Sauce440

    Sauce440 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    will it work if I put the right adaptor fitting on then put the led in?
     
  20. Blaaster

    Blaaster Moderator Staff Member Technician Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15,386
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pensioner
    Location:
    eastern australia
    A LED will happily operate on the supply that the stator delivers, providing that it is rectified/regulated.
     

Share This Page