Fresh rebuild with minor mods, can’t get it to run right

MN Squatch

Jun 4, 2019
So I rebuilt my 02 blaster this winter after I fried it a couple weeks after buying it last summer. When I did the fresh rebuild (jug, piston, rings, gaskets) I added dual stage boyesen reeds, ported and polished the jug, and removed the box air filter altogether and put a cone filter right on the carb. I quit using the oil injection because I suspect it may have had something to do with the top end blowing. Currently running 40:1. Let me add that I’m a total rookie at all of this, it’s my first 2 stroke, and really my only mechanical inclination comes from being a machinist by trade. I had the engine running relatively good aside from the fact that it would start bogging down about 10 minutes after riding. I was running the stock 230 main jet with the needle and float clipped on the very top groove. After reading some threads I decided to try moving the clip back to the middle and running a 270 main jet. This made it bog down much more. I’ve heard of plug chopping but don’t really know anything about it. Does anyone have any recommendations on what to do next? I’d like to be able to get the jetting dialed in without having to guess and check without really having a clue what I’m doing.

All input welcome