Changing Type F oil to another oil

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Tankbuster, Aug 14, 2021.

  1. Tankbuster

    Tankbuster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Transportation
    Location:
    Wi.
    2 Questions: If I were to change my tranny oil from Type F to lets say, Rotella 15-40, do I have to to pull the clutch pack, clean and resoak in new oil? Or can I just add the new oil? Thank you in advance for any responses. I thought I saw an answer on this forum, but cant seem to locate it anywhere.
     
  2. Awk08

    Awk08 Administrator Staff Member Technician

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    24,424
    Likes Received:
    2,282
    Trophy Points:
    175
    Occupation:
    Electrician/Contractor
    Location:
    Pa.
    You'll be fine to switch, maybe change it again after a few rides
     
  3. Tankbuster

    Tankbuster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Transportation
    Location:
    Wi.
    I will do that. Thanks Awk!
     
  4. Larry's Shee

    Larry's Shee Active Member Technician

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9,014
    Likes Received:
    987
    Trophy Points:
    149
    Occupation:
    Unemployed carpenter
    Location:
    Ortskaville, MI
    The presoaking is just so that the fibers aren’t dry on initial start, which would instantly fry them
     
  5. Tankbuster

    Tankbuster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Transportation
    Location:
    Wi.
    I just wanted to make sure....... I am tired of doing this s**t more than once and wasting alot of n time and $$$ Thanks Larry!
     

Share This Page