Cable Rear Brakes. "How to make them work"

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by blasternoob, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. Joseph Harrah

    Joseph Harrah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a 2001 model that I am restoring. I posted I was having a problem with the rear brakes locking up and not releasing. I do not believe that you have to change the cable to a shorty cable if your cable is working fine and sliding smooth... I put the the Lever assembly in cleaner for a few days Cleaned it completely. Then I could see a plate between the washers and seen that there were a few Roller bearings missing.... You could see when you put pressure on the washers and tried to spin it. It would not be smooth... I ordered a new Brake lever Set _ Yamaha Part# 2XJ-25726-01-00 _ $ 81.45 I did decide to go with the shorty cable. Put it all together , New Pads, The rubber bushing in the Caliper (that holds The inner thinner brake pad), Greased everything.

    The Brakes work GREAT!
    I hope this helps someone.....
     
    Larry's Shee likes this.
  2. Larry's Shee

    Larry's Shee Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8,520
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    149
    Occupation:
    Unemployed carpenter
    Location:
    Ortskaville, MI
    Well IIRC the original post said shotry cable was a must! That's what I used, works fine !!
     
  3. Nikel

    Nikel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Gender:
    Female
    Is it a problem for other people for the cable not to reach the brake calipher & where it’s needed to be positioned ?
     
  4. Slydog

    Slydog Member Technician

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Diesel mech
    Location:
    Florida
    What. Is the cable too short? Do you have an extended swing arm
     
  5. Nikel

    Nikel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Gender:
    Female
    I’m not sure , but it does look like it from photos i’ve looked up. But yes the cable doesn’t reach completely thru to the back inside slot the calipher is positioned in
     
  6. Slydog

    Slydog Member Technician

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Diesel mech
    Location:
    Florida
    Are you replacing the rear cable? If so how does the length match up with old cable.
    Assuming there was an old cable.
     
  7. Nikel

    Nikel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Gender:
    Female
    There was no original brake cable or brake caliper, we bought both new.
     
  8. Nikel

    Nikel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Gender:
    Female
    & i just discovered from the previous owner that the back part is from a yamaha banshee. but i looked up the banshee rear brake cables & the ends look like they wouldn’t attach to the brake at the foot.
     
  9. Slydog

    Slydog Member Technician

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Diesel mech
    Location:
    Florida
    Does the caliper bolt up on the axle carrier?
    They may have changed the whole axle carrier. Which i believe is setup for hydraulic brakes?
     
  10. Slydog

    Slydog Member Technician

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Diesel mech
    Location:
    Florida
    Have you giving any thought about. Converting to hydraulic rear brakes?
    There is some information on here.
    Is your cable routed correctly?
     

Share This Page