98 200cc runs rich wont accelerate

Discussion in 'Carburetor' started by hoodmekanik, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. hoodmekanik

    hoodmekanik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got this blaster in pieces... it came with a new crank with bearings and piston with rings .... so I built the motor and got it running... motor has 150lb compression... I just rebuilt the carb with all new hard parts... sleeve, needle, mixture needle, high speed needle, and etc...

    The quad starts up and I can get it to idle off the handle adjustment, there's no idle screw...
    But it smokes like crazy and it revs up to a certain point like let's say idle is 1500rpm, highest rev is 5000rpm... no backfires no sputter just tons of smoke...

    Now if I start the quad and shut the peacock off and let it idle for a couple seconds and begin to rev it up and I revs perfectly until, the bowl empties out... so I figured obviously its the Carb, but with all new parts in the Carb it still does it.... any suggestions??
     
  2. 89blaster89

    89blaster89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,739
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    80
    Location:
    Pacific northwest, washington
    put all the stock parts back in thee carb, adjust idle, check for airleaks since you rebuilt it, do yo have any aftermarket parts? and since you see no idle screw that means you have the TORS still. so the idle screw should be on the tors system, (Throttle overide system) its the big brick on top of the carb if its not there then you have to adjust it by the cable or install your own idle screw
     
  3. dksix

    dksix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North East Tennessee
    I'd check my float height, I think its suppose to be somewhere between 19 and 21 mm. I'd have to look it up to be sure, I'd say its sticky'd in the "Carb" section.
     
  4. Myblasterisblue

    Myblasterisblue New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson az
    Does it rev by itself or when you rev it? If it revs by itself you hve an airleak. Also check your reeds for gaps, cracks, or breaks
     
  5. Blaaster

    Blaaster Moderator Staff Member Technician

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15,383
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pensioner
    Location:
    eastern australia
    It sounds like a combination of float height and incorrect jet and needle.

    Did you scource the carb components seperatly or were they a kit?
     
  6. hoodmekanik

    hoodmekanik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The tors is removed so I have it idled off the cable... I don't have any leaks... only aftermarket part is the fmf exhaust

    [QUOTE=89blaster89;648521]put all the stock parts back in thee carb, adjust idle, check for airleaks since you rebuilt it, do yo have any aftermarket parts? and since you see no idle screw that means you have the TORS still. so the idle screw should be on the tors system, (Throttle overide system) its the big brick on top of the carb if its not there then you have to adjust it by the cable or install your own idle screw[/QUOTE]
     
  7. hoodmekanik

    hoodmekanik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This problem has been happening before the Carb rebuild...

    Float height is 20mm- 21mm
     
  8. hoodmekanik

    hoodmekanik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesn't rev up on its own... I rev it and it smokes like a pig and gets stuck at a low rpm... but if I shut off the fuel valve, than it will rev high and the smoke is minimal
     
  9. Blaaster

    Blaaster Moderator Staff Member Technician

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15,383
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pensioner
    Location:
    eastern australia
    What 2 stroke oil and ratio are you using.

    What mods and jet sizes, pilot, main and needle position.

    How many turns out on the air screw?
     
  10. Myblasterisblue

    Myblasterisblue New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson az
    My 99 blaster recently started to smoke like crazy. I figured out i had bad crank seals and my gear oil was leaking into my top end and making it smoke like crazy. I replaced those and now it barely smokes at all. Maybe you got something like that going on. Do you have to add gear oil alot?
     
  11. hoodmekanik

    hoodmekanik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No I don't have to add oil... it only smokes like that when the fuel switch is on.... I also checked it see if the Carb was leaking into the head and it doesn't leak
     
  12. hoodmekanik

    hoodmekanik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    32:1 mix

    The jet size is stock
    Air screw is out 1 1/4 full turn
     
  13. Myblasterisblue

    Myblasterisblue New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson az
    You should up the jet a size or two for premix
     
  14. Blaaster

    Blaaster Moderator Staff Member Technician

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15,383
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pensioner
    Location:
    eastern australia
    What type and brand of oil, and yes premix at 32:1 needs a size larger main jet.
     
  15. hoodmekanik

    hoodmekanik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why would I need to up the jet size if the bikes running to rich as it is
     
  16. hoodmekanik

    hoodmekanik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn its the weekend and I wanted to go riding... so I took the Carb and reeds out, pulled the Carb apart and now I am going put it in a sonic tank and maybe its just something dirty... well see
     
  17. slickerthanyou

    slickerthanyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7,615
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The stock injection is said to be about 20:1- if you delete that and premix 32:1 You are putting in LESS oil and more fuel. Jetting should be checked, reguardless.
     
  18. slickerthanyou

    slickerthanyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7,615
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well yes, because you've created a LEAN situation and it's starving.

    You deleted the tors, but haven't added the idle screw? Or still have the big silver box on top of the carb? If so you can still adjust idle with that large screw on that silver box, if it doesn't work then you have to open it up and see what is wrong.

    When I switched to PWK carbs I couldn't get the idle set with the idle screw no matter what I did, (They use a plastic piece of crap) I switched to the brass one and still had issues, ended up having to cut a section of the spring off so I could turn it in enough to get the idle correct. Then I was able to properly jet the carb.

    Before you put the carb back on the blasty, attach the cable and see if the slide is moving all the way up to give you WOT. I'm thinking the slide isn't going up far enough for top end.
    -slick
     
  19. Blaaster

    Blaaster Moderator Staff Member Technician

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15,383
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pensioner
    Location:
    eastern australia
    You stated that the main jet is stock, and you run a FMF, something really amiss here, a stock main jet is way too small for a FMF.

    Regardless of what the jetting is, too much fuel is the problem.

    What oil do you premix, and how do you measure it?
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2012
  20. Blaaster

    Blaaster Moderator Staff Member Technician

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15,383
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pensioner
    Location:
    eastern australia
    The motor gets less oil, but by adding oil to the fuel that passes through the jets you effectivly lean out the air fuel mix.

    The oil takes the place of fuel and at 32:1 requires at least one size larger jet.

    I sometimes vary my oil ratio to compensate for elevation or temperature changes to save swapping main jets.
     

Share This Page