2000 Blaster not running right

GearHead1662

Apr 19, 2021
Picked up a 2000 blaster recently. From what I understand the engine seized up and was rebuilt, allegedly bored over 30 and P&P. Afterwards the owner swapped to twist throttle and installed a Mikuni 26 606 carb. Ever since then it's not running quite right. There a lag when you snap the throttle sometimes and it loses power (bogs) at top end. As soon as I got it I changed the fuel, cleaned the strainer and made sure my air system is clean with a new filter. Put a new spark plug in and ran it. After running around the block a few times testing it the plug is tan and looks good. Was going to clean the carb and get new Reed valves but I'm new to small engines. Does this seem like a jetting issue even though the plug looks good?

There are 3 basic circuits
Idle/ pilot
Needle/needle jet /slide
Main jet
They all overlap each other some

If you can list your mods and what jets are in it now. it will be easier for someone to help you.

Only way to know if jetting is good is with a proper plug chop. What you did is not it.

What is your setup/mods? Be SPECIFIC from air box to exhaust tip.
What’s your jetting/carb settings?
Have you done a leak down test?

As said before I just bought the thing I'm unsure and I already stated the plug looks good. I know it had a mikuni vm26 606 carb and no air box lid with a uni air filter. Unsure about the reeds and a fmf exhaust. I'm going to get v force 4 reeds anyway.

What main jet is in it now.? And are you premixing? Or using the stock oil injection.
With that exhaust and lid off you should be in the 280-320 main jet range.

What main jet is in it now.? And are you premixing? Or using the stock oil injection.
With that exhaust and lid off you should be in the 280-320 main jet range.