2 Stroke compressions versus 4 stroke

Jul 13, 2011
First of all I would like to thank everyone for there input into my questions. I'm a first time blaster owner and I can see why they are so popular. I'm an auto mechanic of 17 years and have a great understanding of 4 strokes, compression ratio's and the octane level needed for them.
Well 2 strokes is a whole new ball game I'm finding out. I see that the stock CR is 6.6:1 and it requires 93 octane. I think raising your compression is one the cheaper and easier ways to do it. So when I found someone that has a raised dome piston on ebay and stated that you can still run 93 octane I thought the only way to do this is by running a bigger jet. Or you can also raise your octane too. I can get 110 octane here in town no problem. It would just be a hassle taking it along with you on the trails. I would probably have to take a gallon with me to fill up in the next town. But the power increases might be worth it.
So my question is why does a lower compression 2 stroke require higher octane versus a 4 stroke? Just curious in trying to understand the physics behind it.

You can use lower octane gas in a 4stroke cause you can get away with it without major reprocushions. The clyinder and piston from predetonation excess heat charge from race gas requires a forged piston otherwise youd melt right through in no time. Since race gas burns cooler and has a more potent flash point causeing a hotter exploseive reaction. The reason for this is because it explodes hot and burns out cool into exhaust fumes thats why you get cooler engine temps.(Blaaster) nope its simply used to lubricate thats all it's there for. However the brands matter couse some seal better than others so yes it does play a part to compression. but if your expecting to get gib HP boosts useing race gas thats a thing for the built engines with porting or pig pistons that require cooler burning fuels to hep stress on internal parts to a minimum......