Yamaha blaster wiring

Discussion in 'Engine' started by J4M1E333, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. J4M1E333

    J4M1E333 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    North Wales
    Just finished a complete re-wire of my 05 blaster so thought I would share how I did it and what goes where seen as though there's a few rewire questions on here, one being my own :p

    firstly, all I have left is my headlight, the necassary switchs for this and kill switch on the left hand side.`

    the rear light, brake sensors, TORS, oil level sensor, and parking brake sensor were all removed during this rewire.

    The Yellow/blk wire from the cdi, leave open, (unconnected) if earthed then cuts out. This is part of the TORS system and doesn't connect to anything since the TORS system is built into the CDI assuming you want the TORS removed. `

    Yellow/green from cdi. This wire should be earthed in order for the quad to run. Note, if this is left open you WILL still get a spark BUT only when you kick it, not when the piston moves, which means the quad won't run so this def needs to be earthed.`
    `
    Orange, this wire comes out of the CDI unit and goes to the coil, this supplys the spark so is definately needed.

    black, there is a few SOLID black wires knocking about on the quad, these will almost certainly connect to the chassis at some point and the other end some sort of switch or sensor etc, discard at your will depending on requirements. the solid black coming from the engine casing should still be earthed no matter what though.`

    Red/white coming from the engine casing should be connected straight to the CDI unit.

    Blk/red coming from the engine casing should be connected straight to the CDI unit.

    green/White coming from the engine casing should be connected straight to the CDI unit.

    Yellow/red this is 12v supply which comes from the stator and supplys the neccasary circuitary. Intially it connects to the CDI. But anything that requires 12v will connect to this at some point, mine connects to the CDI then to the headlight stalk on the left hand side to supply the power to the headlight.
    `
    Black/White from the CDI is the kill switch system, whenever this is earthed, you will not get a spark no matter what, you can either leave this open which means you won't have anything to kill the engine or wire a "normally open switch" from the black/White to earth to enable a kill switch.`

    Any more questions let us know and I'll try my hardest to help!!`

    I don't wish to trash anyones quad, so follow this at your own risk, this is how mine is wired and it works perfect, just being informative, cheers.
    AcidRayn, royalt67 and justtwistit like this.
  2. justtwistit

    justtwistit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    nice write up! this is going to help a lot of people
  3. brett_498

    brett_498 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do you know what the wires coming out of the case are for as well as the cdi wiring? which ones which? im building a custom motor and i need to know what each wire runs. i do not have a blaster manual so im not sure. if anyones got a manual with the cdi wiring diagram please let me know
  4. J4M1E333

    J4M1E333 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    North Wales
    what colours are the ones coming out of the case?

    red/white, blk/red and green/white all connect straight to the cdi, nothing else, yellow/red is 12v supply from stator, but connects to cdi, black is ground (for reference)
  5. brett_498

    brett_498 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks alot. ive just about got it all done. im gonna see if i can connect all these wires together and hopefully get it running.
  6. brett_498

    brett_498 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just came back in from the garage and i dont have a green/white wire on the cdi. my blasters a 94 so i dont know if the years were different.
  7. yb200

    yb200 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,718
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    grounds keeper
    Location:
    South Dakota
    02 and older only have 4 wires from the stator 03+ have 5
  8. ballster101

    ballster101 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    High School Student
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    I have a green cable that goes where?
  9. rideyamaha09

    rideyamaha09 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The only green wire I can think of is for the headlight, it should come down from the handlebar control switch.
  10. cdocken02

    cdocken02 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    military
    Location:
    OKC
    man i am glad u wrote this i am going to be doing this when i put my bike all back together.
  11. Paul

    Paul New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good info...I am going to remove every thing I dont need..I have no lights or tors..
  12. J4M1E333

    J4M1E333 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    North Wales
    glad its helping you out I:I i was tearing my hair out trying to re-wire it without a service manual.
  13. Juggaloclownz187

    Juggaloclownz187 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Father!
    Location:
    Woods of 315 NY
    So if i have an 03 motor in a 96 body, then the green wire coming out of the case would just be an extra wire then? Cause im trying to hook up the wiring and i had this green wire left over and did not want to start it until i know....
  14. DUALSTROKE

    DUALSTROKE Giving away free clues Technician Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,845
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    masshole
    You need to earth(ground) that green wire.
  15. Juggaloclownz187

    Juggaloclownz187 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Father!
    Location:
    Woods of 315 NY
    Just ground it anywhere? It has a connector on the end of it?
  16. DUALSTROKE

    DUALSTROKE Giving away free clues Technician Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,845
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    masshole
    You can ground it anywhere.Most likely the best place would be the coil.You may be able to just tie it into the black wire,all solid blacks should be earthed right from the factory.If you need more wire just get another piece and a few connectors and make up a jumper,or cut and solder them together,then heatshrink them.
  17. Juggaloclownz187

    Juggaloclownz187 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Father!
    Location:
    Woods of 315 NY
    Theres a black wire coming out of the coil already can i just ground the green one to the other bolt on the coil?
  18. DUALSTROKE

    DUALSTROKE Giving away free clues Technician Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,845
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    masshole
    yes you can.I would think you could use the black wire also but never tried so I don't want to mislead you.Plus you would have to break the connection somewhere in order to connect it.Mine as well just run a jumper up to the coil and ground it there under the bolt on the coil.
  19. Juggaloclownz187

    Juggaloclownz187 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Father!
    Location:
    Woods of 315 NY
    Ok just wanted to make sure that its ok to have to wires grounded to the coil (one on each side?)
  20. DUALSTROKE

    DUALSTROKE Giving away free clues Technician Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,845
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    masshole
    Mine as well put them on the same side.Also while it is off sand it down a little or scratch it up,whatever works for just to be sure you have a good ground.

Share This Page