Stuck kick-starter

Swiftk

Apr 26, 2019
First off, let me say I’m a novice and my 11 year old son keeps saying, “can we just pay someone to fix it”, but I am stubborn and want to understand how this all works. Last fall I put a new top end on our 1996 Blaster and finally got around to putting on the exhaust last weekend. I went to try and hand press the kick starter today, but it is stuck. I thought maybe a ring had gotten jammed, so I pulled the fly wheel cover and can turn over the fly wheel, when the clutch is pulled in, and feel compression. Next up was to drain the oil, the. pull the clutch cover, which all looks to be nice a shiny and no obvious damage. The gear on the starter appears to align with the next gear, but the gear (circled in red) doesn’t want to move. I am not sure what this gear is called and I don’t want force anything. Any one with thoughts of what might be going on?

Thanks - Ken

Attachments

• 3CEC0480-25CA-4704-9FDC-57AFE83E1411.jpeg
    3CEC0480-25CA-4704-9FDC-57AFE83E1411.jpeg
    159.1 KB · Views: 208
That is a idler gear. There is a snap ring and washer behind it. And same washer and snap ring in front.. The kicker. Turns the idler gear which turns clutch basket(main shaft tranny) which turns the balance shaft. Then the crank shaft.. Try turning clutch basket by hand. Make sure your in nuetral first. With spark plug removed

Last edited:
Idler is just on a round pin. Make sure gear face is even with other gears.snap ring could have moved.you are not supposed to reuse them once taken off

Idler is just on a round pin. Make sure gear face is even with other gears.snap ring could have moved.you are not supposed to reuse them once taken off
Thanks, I’ll dig into this tomorrow since it will be 23 degrees and snowing here in Denver tomorrow.

Thanks, I’ll dig into this tomorrow since it will be 23 degrees and snowing here in Denver tomorrow.