Piston cracked and went into the bottom end

mike11743

Feb 12, 2008
My piston overheated and cracked. I believe it went into the bottom end. Is there any way to get out the pieces short of splitting the cases. im not good with bottom ends. Is it safe to flush the bottom end with kerosene to get out all the little shavings?

Yes you can flush it but there is a good chance that there is some case damage.

I always say to split and investigate.

Yup

Only way to be sure is split the sucker. Short of that, meaning if you have not done it, it's not a real begginer type OJT thing. You can fill the crank area with a thin oil or K1. If it drains right off you got a hole or the seals are shot. If it doesn't drain over night, you may want try to put new upper crap on. No gaurantee there isn't a crack or small leak, but beats fubaring the whole motor if you don't know what you are doing and can't afford to pay someone that does.

Bad place to be. Post up if we can further help.

Good luck, I hope you can get lucky!!I:I

A

when the engine siezed...did u try to kick it again or was it completly locked up?.....because if it was locked up and u didnt try to kick it...u might be lucky....i dropped the skirt on mine and i was able to flush it out without anyother damages to the lowerend but it depends....i guess i was lucky but let us know good luck

I flushed mine with no problems. I had a bunch of little pieces. I flushe it about 20 time though with PB Blaster and then carb cleaner. I have had no problems.

i had the same thing happen piece of the piston put a nickel sized hole in the lower cases if it did i found new motor on ebay cheaper than fixing the old one