Need some advice on a head design

Overkill

Nov 16, 2017
I've been reading around the forum about redesigning the combustion chamber of a blaster head. Since I'm a machinist I'd like to attempt it myself. I drafted up a design and was wondering if it would work for my style of riding and still be able to stick with pump fuel? I typically ride wooded trails. My blaster is stock stroke with a 66.75 bore. Would my head design work? It measures about 22.15 CC's. Dimensions are in inches.

Attachments

• 2215.jpg
    2215.jpg
    93.9 KB · Views: 464
Last edited:
Reactions: best
I encourage you to re-chamber your blaster head! Its a learning experience. Its fun. You learn something, and you receive fruits for your labor. The stock chamber shape is a very poor design for squeezing power out of the power stroke. Make it a "Hemi", keep it around 23 cc's (+ or -), set the squish at around .030 to .045 (thousandths).
If I'm reading your specs in the photo above correctly, you plan on keeping the general shape of the stock combustion chamber including the "cone" shaped top of the chamber that shrouds the spark plug? If so, DON'T DO THAT.
Make it a true "Hemi" where the top dome of the chamber blends right where the end of the spark plug threads end. There are photos on here for reference.

A head re-chambering will make a big difference in power output that is noticeable in the seat of your pants when you ride. Very noticeable! I would suggest that you also port the cylinder to match the that new "Hemi" head. Get the porting templates here...

http://kenoconnorracing.com/portingtemplates.html